Edward Kidson Medal

The Meteorological Society of NZ (Inc) has established an award, the Edward Kidson Medal. The medal is awarded every two years and is named in honour of Dr Edward Kidson, Director of the New Zealand Meteorological Service from 1927 to 1939.

Kidson was instrumental in placing New Zealand meteorology on a sound scientific footing and is regarded as a key figure in the development of meteorology and climatology in this country.

His own scientific work in meteorology covered a wide field and he had an international reputation for his papers on Southern Hemisphere atmospheric circulation. His papers on New Zealand’s climate remained standard works for many years.

The Edward Kidson Medal is awarded to the author of an outstanding recent scientific paper published in a refereed scientific journal, which:

  • advances the science of meteorology and/or climatology, or
  • advances understanding of the influence of meteorology and/or climatology or other meteorological factors in other fields of scientific or human endeavour or, conversely, the influence of other sciences or endeavours in meteorology and/or climatology, or
  • reports on a significant and novel scientific, educational, social or economic application of meteorology and/or climatology.

We are calling for nominations now!

The deadline for nominations is 5th of July, 2020.

The Winner will be announced in November 2020.

Download the 2020 Nomination Form


Nominees for the Edward Kidson Medal should normally be New Zealand residents but others who have a significant connection with New Zealand, particularly in the field of the atmospheric sciences, will be considered.

All nominations must either be by a current member of the Meteorological Society or include a written endorsement by a current member. Rules for the consideration and awarding of the Kidson Medal of the Meteorological Society of New Zealand can be found here. Nominations, with supporting statements and including copies of the relevant paper, should be sent to info@metsoc.org.nz.

2018 Winner   Dr. Kevin Trenberth

see https://www.metsoc.org.nz/latest-news/

Previous winners

Dr Hinrich Schaefer, 2016

Dr Greg Bodeker, 2014

Dr Andrew Lorrey, 2010

Dr Xiaogu Zheng, 2007

Dr James Renwick, 2005

Professor Andrew Sturman, 2003