Log in

Meteorological Society

of New Zealand

©Kadri Elcoat

Edward Kidson Medal

The Meteorological Society of NZ (Inc) has established an award, the Edward Kidson Medal. The medal is awarded every two years and is named in honour of Dr Edward Kidson, Director of the New Zealand Meteorological Service from 1927 to 1939.

Kidson was instrumental in placing New Zealand meteorology on a sound scientific footing and is regarded as a key figure in the development of meteorology and climatology in this country.

His own scientific work in meteorology covered a wide field and he had an international reputation for his papers on Southern Hemisphere atmospheric circulation. His papers on New Zealand’s climate remained standard works for many years.

Call for Nominations and Rules

Rules for the consideration and awarding of the Kidson Medal of the Meteorological Society of New Zealand were last changed at the 2015 AGM and can be found here

The 2024 Call for Nominations is now open

🏅 2022 Winner: Dr. Luke Harrington

Previous Winners

Dr. Kyle Clem, 2020

Dr. Kevin Trenberth, 2018

Dr Hinrich Schaefer, 2016

Dr Greg Bodeker, 2014

Dr Andrew Lorrey, 2010

Dr Xiaogu Zheng, 2007

Dr James Renwick, 2005

Professor Andrew Sturman, 2003

Meteorological Society of New Zealand
PO Box 238
Mosgiel 9053
© 2023 Meteorological Society of New Zealand

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software