Kidson Medal: Call for nominations – 2020

The Meteorological Society of New Zealand (Inc) is now calling for nominations for the Edward Kidson Medal. The award is made every two years and was first awarded in 2003.

The award is named in honour of Edward Kidson, Director of the New Zealand Meteorological Service from 1927 to 1939. Kidson was instrumental in placing New Zealand meteorology on a sound scientific footing and is regarded as a key figure in the development of meteorology and climatology in this country. His own scientific work in meteorology covered a wide field and he had an international reputation for his papers on Southern Hemisphere atmospheric circulation. His papers on New Zealand’s climate remained standard works for many years.

The Edward Kidson Medal will be awarded to the author of an outstanding scientific paper published in a refereed scientific journal, which:

  • advances the science of meteorology and/or climatology, or
  • advances understanding of the influence of meteorology and/or climatology or other meteorological factors in other fields of scientific or human endeavour, or conversely, the influence of other sciences or endeavours on meteorology and/or climatology, or
  • reports on significant and novel scientific, educational, social or economic application of meteorology and/or climatology.

Nominees for the Edward Kidson medal should normally be New Zealand residents, but others who have a significant connection with New Zealand, particularly in the field of the atmospheric sciences will be considered. All nominations must either be by a current member of the Meteorological Society of New Zealand or include a written endorsement by a current member. Full details of the rules for consideration and awarding of the Edward Kidson medal can be found here.

Nominations, with supporting statements and including copies of the relevant paper, should be sent to

The deadline for nominations is July 5, 2020.

The winner will be announced in Novedmber 2020. We look forward to receiving your nominations.

Download the 2020 Nomination Form